Saturday , 24 February 2018
Home » Theme Days » Soulful Sundays » One For Gil: A Tribute to Gil Scott-Heron

One For Gil: A Tribute to Gil Scott-Heron

Excellent mix put together here by DJ Center, presented by Push The Fadar and The Roy Ayers Project.  The whole mix was done in vinyl… the way Gil’s music is supposed to be heard.


It’s been just over three weeks since Gil’s passing. Like all death, it is extremely hard to initially get the news, but as time goes on, we find ways to move on and the reality of someone passing fades, deep into our memories.

Well, to me, this one is different. The reality of Gil’s passing and the void that has been left with his absence, has been hanging over me since Friday, May 27th. Gil had a voice and spirit like no other- beautiful, soulful and real, with every word he spoke. Whether it was through his critique of America and the ‘deals in back alleys where politicians often hide’ or his call to unify the Black community, shining light on the injustices done to people of color, Gil did it like no other and to the death.

He brought truth to word with a deep musical backdrop and classic humor that could only be his own.

Over the last few weeks, I’ve been revisiting Gil’s entire body of work and decided to put together this tribute mix for you. This mix is in celebration of the music Gil created.

Now, this is not a “definitive” collection or a “best of”, but these pieces are songs that have meant something to me over the years. The hope is that you might discover one or two cuts you had never heard before or that this mix might bring something back for you, as you bump these timeless classics.

Truthfully, I’d need to put together volumes of these mixes to be able to include everything, because Gil’s discography IS that deep! He left behind an incredible legacy…and truthfully, I don’t know what more can really be said about Gil and the music he made….

1. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “Offering” (Arista)

2. Gil Scott-Heron “The Vulture” (Flying Dutchman)

3. Gil Scott-Heron “Home is Where the Hatred Is” (Flying Dutchman)

4. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “It’s Your World” (Arista)

5. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “Angola, Louisiana” (Arista)

6. Gil Scott-Heron “Whitey on the Moon” (Flying Dutchman)

7. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “Delta Man (Where I’m Comin’ From)” (Arista)

8. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “South Carolina (Barnwell)” (Arista)

9. Gil Scott-Heron “A Legend In His Own Mind” (Arista)

10. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “New York City” (Arista)

11. Gil Scott-Heron “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised” (Flying Dutchman)

12. Gil Scott-Heron “Lady Day  and John Coltrane” (Flying Dutchman)

13. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “The Bottle” (Strata-East)

14. Gil Scott-Heron “The Klan” (Arista)

15. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “Pardon Our Analysis (We Beg Your Pardon)” (Arista)

16. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “Rivers of My Fathers” (Strata-East)

17. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “Your Daddy Loves You” (Strata-East)

18. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “A Lovely Day” (Arista)

19. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “We Almost Lost Detroit” (Arista)

20. Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson “Must Be Something” (Arista)

21. Gil Scott-Heron “Who’ll Pay Reparations On My Soul” (Flying Dutchman)

21. Gil Scott-Heron “No Knock” (Flying Dutchman)

22. Blackalicious “First in Flight Feat. Gil Scott-Heron” (MCA)


Around the web

About Kevin

Owner - Kevin is the owner and founder of Originally from Virginia Beach, VA he now resides in South Florida. In addition to this site he runs HiPNOTT Records, a small independent Hip Hop label and is an Executive Producer of the documentary film DEMOS: An Independent Artist's Guide To Success. Other than music, he is a techie by trade and holds a Bachelor's degree in Information Technology.
Top 10 Albums of 2014
Top 10 Mixtapes/Free Albums of 2014
Top 10 Slept-On Albums of 2014
Top 10 EPs of 2014
Albums / Mixtapes Instrumentals New Singles Sponsored Releases
Ben Boogz (of 2 Hungry Bros): Soleil (feat. DJ M-Tri)
MarQ Spekt & Blockhead: Devil’s Island Storyteller (feat. Sadat X)
Hassaan Mackey & Kev Brown: That Grit [EP Review]
Big K.R.I.T: Cadillactica [Album Review]
Black Milk: If There’s A Hell Below [Album Review]
Stalley: Ohio [Album Review]
Ras Kass Talks Blasphemy LP, Working with Apollo Brown and Longevity in Rap
D.S. Interview At 90.5 FM [Video]
Artist Spotlight: RF3RD
Otis Brown III Talks The Thought of You, Jazz & Hip Hop’s Symbiosis and Donald Byrd
Lazarus: Open Heart Surgery (feat. Bizarre of D12)
Clay James: Kool Water Intro (Music Video)
Git x 1Mt: Lifestyle of an Artist
British Producer Actress Embarks on Short Tour – Win Tickets!
Paid Dues
Win Passes to see Lil Wayne, Ab-Soul and more at Paid Dues Fest in Los Angeles!
Microphone Check 1-2, 1-2
Donwill: Bad With Names Episode 8: 2014 Wrap Up (feat Von Pea)